South Africa Cabinet Members 1999 to 2004

President Thabo Mbeki became the second democratically elected president and announced his Cabinet on 17 June 1999.

Ministry / Portfolio

Minister / Incumbent


President of South Africa

Thabo Mbeki



Deputy President of South Africa

Jacob Zuma



Agriculture and Land Affairs

Thoko Didiza



Arts and Culture

Ben Ngubane




Ivy Matsepe-Casaburri



Correctional Services

Ben Skosana




Mosiuoa Patrick "Terror" Lekota




Professor Kader Asmal



Environmental Affairs and Tourism

Mohammed Valli Moosa




Trevor Andrew Manuel



Foreign Affairs

Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma




Manto Tshabalala-Msimang



Home Affairs

Mangosuthu Buthelezi




Sankie Mthembi-Mahanyele



Intelligence Services

Joe Nhlanhla



Justice and Constitutional Development

Penuel Maduna




Membathisi Mdladlana



Minerals and Energy

Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka



Provincial and Local Government

Sydney Mufamadi



Public Enterprises

Alec Erwin



Public Service and Administration

Geraldine Fraser-Moleketi



Public Works

Stella Sigcau



Safety and Security

Steve Tshwete



Science and Technology

Ben Ngubane



Social Development

Zola Skweyiya



Sport and Recreation

Ngconde Balfour



The Presidency

Essop Pahad



Trade and Industry

Alec Erwin




Dullah Omar



Water Affairs and Forestry

Ronnie Kasrils




• ANC,(1999). ‘Cabinet as announced by President Thabo Mbeki - 17 June 1999’ from ANC, 17 June [online] Available at  [Accessed 06 June 2014]

Last updated : 06-Jun-2014

This article was produced by South African History Online on 06-Jun-2014

Support South African History Online

Dear friends of SAHO

South African History Online (SAHO) needs your support.

SAHO is one of the most visited websites in South Africa with over 6 million unique users a year. Our goal is to fulfill our mandate and continue to build, and make accessible, a new people’s history of South Africa and Africa.

Please help us deliver this by contributing upwards of $1.00 a month for the next 12 months.

Make a donation here and send us a message of support.