De Klerk and Mandela receive UNESCO peace prize


Mandela and De klerk

Monday, 3 February 1992

President F.W. de Klerk and African National Congress (ANC) leader Nelson Mandela jointly accepted the Felix Houphouet-Boigny Peace Prize at the UNESCO headquarters in Paris, France. The award was given to them for their brave effort in ending apartheid, thus bringing peaceful negotiations for a democratic dispensation in South Africa. In the process they set an example to the rest of the world that conflicts could be ended without shedding blood. The prize, awarded for the first time by an eleven-person jury chaired by former US Secretary of State Henry Kissinger, was named after the president of the Ivory Coast.

Last updated : 03-Feb-2015

This article was produced for South African History Online on 16-Mar-2011