The Joint Declaration of Cooperation ("Three Doctors’ Pact") is signed

Dr. G.M. Naicker, Dr. A.B. Xuma and Dr. Y.M. Dadoo signing the Pact Image source

Sunday, 9 March 1947

Sixty-five years ago (1947-2012) the Joint Declaration of Cooperation known as “Three Doctors’ Pact” was signed by three doctors,  Dr. A.B. Xuma, president of the African National Congress (ANC); Dr. G.M. Naicker, president of the Natal Indian Congress (NIC) and Dr. Y.M. Dadoo, president of the Transvaal Indian Congress. This was done in the recognition that all 'non-Europeans' should unite in the struggle against the National Party government and it's segregationist policies. This agreement was a forerunner to the Congress of the People, which drafted the Freedom Charter in 1955.

• South African History Online ‘1947-Joint Declaration of Cooperation’,from SAHO [online], Available at: [Accessed: 17 February 2012]
• The University of KwaZulu Natal, ‘The Dadoo-Xuma-Naicker Pact from SAHO [online]. Available at:[Accessed: 17 February 2012]
• South African Communist Party, ‘Three Doctors’ Pact, March 9, 1947’, from SAHO [online], Available at[Accessed: 17 February 2012]

Last updated : 18-Jan-2018

This article was produced by South African History Online on 16-Mar-2011

Support South African History Online

Dear friends of SAHO

South African History Online (SAHO) needs your support.

SAHO is one of the most visited websites in South Africa with over 6 million unique users a year. Our goal is to fulfill our mandate and continue to build, and make accessible, a new people’s history of South Africa and Africa.

Please help us deliver this by contributing upwards of $1.00 a month for the next 12 months.

Make a donation here and send us a message of support.