Organisations & Institutions

State institutions that support constitutional democracy

The establishment of the Constitution resulted in the establishment of various government institutions that protect people from government abuse. They are referred to as the protection mechanisms. It is their job to make sure that the government does its work properly

These institutions are independent and report to Parliament at least once a year. They are:

  • The Public Protector
  • South African Human Rights Commission (SAHRC)
  • Commission on Gender Equality (CGE)
  • The Audit or General
  • Independent Electoral Commission (IEC)
  • Commission for the Promotion and Protection of the Rights of Cultural, Religious and Linguistic Communities (Cultural Commission)
  • Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (ICASA)
  • The Land Claims Commission has been set up to protect people's land rights under Section 25 of the Bill of Rights.
  • Land Claims Commission (LCC)

Another truly major challenge was to help the Financial and Fiscal Commission (FFC) ”” a newly created body and independent organization under the Constitution, establish itself so that it could carry out its function of advising the government on revenue sharing

Political Parties and number of people that participated in drafting of the constitution.

Party No. of Members Leader
The African National Congress (ANC) 312 Nelson Mandela
National Party (NP) 99 F.W. DeKlerk
Inkatha Freedom Party 48 Mangosuthu Buthelezi
Freedom Front (FF) 14 Constand Viljoen
Democratic Party 10 Tony Leon
Pan Africanist Congress(PAC) 5 Clarence Makwetu
African Christian democratic Party (ACDP) 2 Kenneth Meshoe

Parties and Governments that took part in the CODESA negotiations