Historical Background Barberton, the Daisy town, was named after Henry Barber in 1884, 24 July by the Gold Commissioner David Walson, after Barber and his cousin Fred discovered gold in the area. The mining of gold in South Africa began in Barberton, where Tom McLachlan found the first traces of alluvial gold in 1874. Since then, gold fields flourished as fortune seekers flocked to the area in search of gold. Today, the town has four gold mines that are more than 100 years and still in.. read more


Bloemfontein is the capital of the Free State Province, previously known as the Orange Free State. The city is known as the 'City of Roses', or Manguang, 'the place of cheetahs' and the landscape is predominantly dry grassland. Bloemfontein is currently the judicial capital of South Africa, and the seat of the Supreme Court of Appeal. .. read more

Cape Town

Also known as 'The Mother City', Cape Town is the largest city in the Western Cape Province, and was founded as a resupply stop for the Dutch East India Company. Today, Cape Town is the legislative capital of South Africa, and a popular tourist destination known for its beaches, vineyards and majestic landscapes and limitless ocean. .. read more

Cato Manor

History of Cato Manor.. read more

Crossroads Township

Crossroads Township is situated in Cape Town in the Wynberg district, some 12 km east of Athlone in the Western Cape Province... read more
This sandstone structure dates from 1902 when it was designed by Herbert Baker for De Beer Cold Storage Syndicate, a... read more
The land, which included the whole of Green Point, was granted in 1814 to David Kuuhle. Construction of the house... read more
The land was originally part of the van Breda estate in Oranjezicht, and was purchased by the Town Council of Cape Town... read more
The first annexation of the Zuid Afrikaansche Republiek by Sir Theophilus Shepstone in 1877 led to the establishment of... read more
      Lying between Witbank and Springs and close enough to the N12 to make a detour here quite... read more
  Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), country located in central Africa. Officially known as the Democratic... read more
The dwelling is an excellent example of late Victorian architecture and was erected in 1893-94 by WN Cook, an affluent... read more
The site of the Battle of Diamond Hill, which took place on the 11th and 12th June 1900, in which 14000 British... read more
Holiday resort at Mossel Bay, named after two steel tanks- Afrikaans: 'bakke', installed to hold water piped... read more
 The Dutch Reformed Kerk, Pretoria was established in 1854, when it separated from the Rustenburg congregation.... read more
  Jacob Hendrik Pierneef is one of South Africa’s most well known artists. He was born in Pretoria in 1886... read more
The ‘Nederduitsch Hervormde' congregation was founded on 8 and 9 September 1855 in Pretoria. It was one of... read more
The year 1859 marks the founding of the Reformed Church, in Pretoria and its first church was built in the town in... read more
This double-storeyed structure was erected as a Rectory and Vicarage, in 1815 by building contractor, Herman Schutte,... read more
Johann Georg Rathfelder was born in Stuttgart in 1811 and emigrated to the Cape in 1835. Following his marriage in the... read more
The name, Dimbaza, an African town in the former Ciskei, about 11km north-west of King William’s Town (on the... read more
The District Six foundation was established in 1989, and in 1994, the District Six Museum came into being. This museum... read more
Djibouti, on the Horn of Africa, is a mostly French- and Arabic-speaking country of dry shrublands, volcanic formations... read more
Provisional protection of a monument- Dockhouse No. 1 and No. 2, off Portswood Road, Portswood Ridge, Victoria and... read more
Dolobran was built in 1906 for Sir Charles Llewellyn Andersson, son of the famous explorer Carl Andersson. Andersson... read more
This group of double-storey semi-detached houses with prominent Victorian and Georgian features was erected shortly... read more
Port Elizabeth owes its origin and development to the arrival of British settlers in 1820. Sir Rufane Donkin was the... read more
Doornkop/Doornsluiten farm was located in Utrecht, a town in Natal (now KwaZulu-Natal). To the west lay Annandale farm... read more
Dorkay House, a building at the south end of Eloff Street in downtown Johannesburg, functioned as the headquarters for... read more
A site of knowledge: Driekopseiland South Africa has a large number of historical rock-engraving sites, where South... read more
The foundation stone of the Drill Hall was laid on 2 October 1884 by Thomas Upington, then Prime Minister of the Cape... read more
The Drostdy was erected during General Jacob Glen Cuyler’s tenure of office as Landdrost of Uitenhage in 1809 and... read more
Durban is in the Kwa-Zulu Natal Province, once known as the Natal Colony, and the former territory of the Zulu king,... read more
The Durban Natural Science Museum has dynamic and innovative research and education programmes with a particular... read more
The site currently known as Durbanville was originally called Pampoen Kraal. On 2 September 1836 it was renamed D'... read more