Historical Background Barberton, the Daisy town, was named after Henry Barber in 1884, 24 July by the Gold Commissioner David Walson, after Barber and his cousin Fred discovered gold in the area. The mining of gold in South Africa began in Barberton, where Tom McLachlan found the first traces of alluvial gold in 1874. Since then, gold fields flourished as fortune seekers flocked to the area in search of gold. Today, the town has four gold mines that are more than 100 years and still in.. read more


Bloemfontein is the capital of the Free State Province, previously known as the Orange Free State. The city is known as the 'City of Roses', or Manguang, 'the place of cheetahs' and the landscape is predominantly dry grassland. Bloemfontein is currently the judicial capital of South Africa, and the seat of the Supreme Court of Appeal. .. read more

Cape Town

Also known as 'The Mother City', Cape Town is the largest city in the Western Cape Province, and was founded as a resupply stop for the Dutch East India Company. Today, Cape Town is the legislative capital of South Africa, and a popular tourist destination known for its beaches, vineyards and majestic landscapes and limitless ocean. .. read more

Cato Manor

History of Cato Manor.. read more

Crossroads Township

Crossroads Township is situated in Cape Town in the Wynberg district, some 12 km east of Athlone in the Western Cape Province... read more
The oldest medical school in South Africa, offer a variety of educational, training and academic career options within... read more
An immigrant from Lithuania, the young Charles Back I, landed on these shores in 1902. With a strong work ethic and... read more
If you leave the "Mothercity" of South Africa and follow the M3 towards Muizenberg, you will have a great view of the... read more
The building dates from the 19th century, and together with its impressive cast-iron verandah, is an excellent example... read more
Port Elizabeth's Feather Market Centre is located on the corner of Baakens Street and Military Road, Central and, as... read more
The Federated Union of Black Artists Arts Centre was established in 1978 by Benjy Francis, Sipho Sepamla and other... read more
The town was founded by General Johan Fick in 1867 who won the territory in the Basotho Wars. Ficksburg is situated in... read more
The First River Temple, built the banks of the Umbilo River, near Bayhead Durban, Natal (know known as KwaZulu Natal),... read more
Click on image to enlarge The oldest remaining building in Bloemfontein, the First Raadsaal is part of the National... read more
It was declared a National Monument under old NMC legislation on 17 December 1976.
In 1877 Zachariah Bowles and his partner, a Mr Owen, established a trading store on the site of present-day Flagstaff.... read more
Initially the division of Fort Beaufort fell under the district of Albany, and was proclaimed a separate division on 8... read more
Fort Cox was a "post of occupation" established by the British military in 1835 and was named in honour of Major... read more
Fort Cunynghame was a telegraph office which, together with Komgha and a number of other establishments in the... read more
This fort was built by the firm Schneider & Co, which was connected to the French firm, Le Creusot. Military... read more
Fort Frederick, Port Elizabeth, which is located along Belmont Terrace, is a stone fort built in 1799 by the British... read more
This was the third fort erected by the German firm Krupp and designed by von Dewitz and Werner. The German forts were... read more
After the Jameson Raid in 1896, Pres Paul Kruger of the “Zuid-Afrikaansche Republiek” decided to protect Pretoria by... read more
Fort Wiltshire was erected by the British military during the frontier war of 1818-19, and was named in honour of Lt-... read more
Completed on 4 September 1897 by the Krupps firm, Von Dewitz and Weiner, the fort cost £49 000 and had the same type of... read more
On June 11, 1795, a squadron of British warships anchored in False Bay. In reaction the commander of the Cape forces... read more
As a direct result of the abortive Jameson Raid of 1896, the Volksraad of the Zuid-Afrikaansche Republiek realised that... read more
Fourteen Streams is located in Frances Baard District Municipality, Northern Cape, South Africa. The estimate terrain... read more
Frankfort is a small farming town situated on the banks of the Wilge River in the Free State province of South Africa.... read more
The French corner of the Cape, Franschoek lies in one of the most beautiful wine valleys in the world, just 45 minutes... read more
The Franschhoek Motor Museum offers visitors a special opportunity to look back at more than 100 years of motoring... read more
The division of Fraserburg was originally part of the district of Worcester and was proclaimed a separate division on... read more
Free State Province   The Free State lies in the heart of South Africa, with the Kingdom of Lesotho nestling in... read more
The Free State Stadium in Bloemfontein was originally built for the Rugby World Cup of 1995. Then, it was revamped to... read more
The site of Freedom Park was carefully chosen, a 52 hectare undeveloped hill overlooking the city of Pretoria. It was... read more