Historical Background Barberton, the Daisy town, was named after Henry Barber in 1884, 24 July by the Gold Commissioner David Walson, after Barber and his cousin Fred discovered gold in the area. The mining of gold in South Africa began in Barberton, where Tom McLachlan found the first traces of alluvial gold in 1874. Since then, gold fields flourished as fortune seekers flocked to the area in search of gold. Today, the town has four gold mines that are more than 100 years and still in.. read more


Bloemfontein is the capital of the Free State Province, previously known as the Orange Free State. The city is known as the 'City of Roses', or Manguang, 'the place of cheetahs' and the landscape is predominantly dry grassland. Bloemfontein is currently the judicial capital of South Africa, and the seat of the Supreme Court of Appeal. .. read more

Cape Town

Also known as 'The Mother City', Cape Town is the largest city in the Western Cape Province, and was founded as a resupply stop for the Dutch East India Company. Today, Cape Town is the legislative capital of South Africa, and a popular tourist destination known for its beaches, vineyards and majestic landscapes and limitless ocean. .. read more

Cato Manor

History of Cato Manor.. read more

Crossroads Township

Crossroads Township is situated in Cape Town in the Wynberg district, some 12 km east of Athlone in the Western Cape Province... read more
The building, designed in a classical-revivalist style, is an important component of Smith Street, one of the most... read more
Gaansbaai, the natural adventure destination, is home to the highest density of Great White Sharks in the world and... read more
On 17 August 1960, Gabon, a country in west central Africa, gained independence from France. It shares common borders... read more
In 1961, the Swiss Fernand Francis Haenggi (b. 1934, Dijon, France) and his mother Mrs F.M.L. Haenggi founded Gallery... read more
Links to explore this further: For a broad overview of African independence go to our site's coverage of African... read more
The Gamtoos river probably derived its name from a Khoikhoi clan whose name was given by early Dutch settlers as "... read more
Gandhi arrived in Durban, Natal (now kwaZulu-Natal) in 1893 to serve as legal counsel to a merchant Dada Abdulla! In... read more
Declared a National Monument under old NMC legislation on 18 February 1977. Believed to be the oldest surviving ‘... read more
Gannahoek Farm is situated in the Colenso district in KwaZulu-Natal Province.  In 1894, the McFie family took... read more
The massive North West Province of South Africa is home to Ganyesa, which is formally part of the Kagisano / Molopo... read more
 While at the Great Synagogue, consecrated in 1905. make time to visit the South African Jewish Museum. Volunteer... read more
Gardens is a residential suburb of Cape Town, and was probably so named because it incorporated part of Van Riebeeck's... read more
To describe Garies as in the middle of nowhere does not do any damage to the reputation of the town (for those who stay... read more
Gauteng means 'Place of Gold' in the Sotho languages. It is the smallest province in South Africa, but also the richest... read more
Gazankulu was the homeland of the Shangaan and Tsonga people in South Africa. It was divided over two territories, west... read more
The elegant gazebo in the Civic Square was built in 1924.  It was the home of a coach magnate, Doel Zeederberg,... read more
The village of Geluk was occupied by Boer forces in October 1899.
Genadendal Historic Village and Museum is a mere 6 km from Greyton. This interesting and historic village of Genadendal... read more
Home to General Jan Smuts for over 40 years, Doornkloof in Irene, Southeast of Pretoria, is a unique museum that... read more
Principal town of the magisterial district and division of George, on the Garden Route 439 km from Cape Town, 1252 km... read more
The district of George was originally part of the district of Swellendam, and was proclaimed a separate district on 23... read more
George Harrison and the history of Johannesburg are closely bound together: it was he who first found gold in 1886, a... read more
The Gold Coast was the first British colony in Africa to become independent. After independence, its name changed to... read more
The building dates back to the early 19th century and, in its time, has undergone a number of changes in its function,... read more
The village of Glen Grey was named in honour of Sir George Grey, Governor of the Cape 1854-61. On 17 July 1902 a fire... read more
The frontier war of 1850-53 was precipitated when the amaNgqika, faced with the increased pressure of European... read more
This impressive Victorian double-storeyed house was designed by the architect AW Ackerman, and built by one Mannix for... read more
Glenshiel is a National Monument in Westcliff , Johannesburg! It was built in 1908, and designed by Sir Herbert Baker.... read more
A famous vantage point on the Drakensberg escarpment God's Window stands at an altitude of 1,829m/6,000ft extending... read more
The Bestbier family first bought this farm in 1928 and today it’s still run by the family with Pieter Bestbier (now a... read more