Historical Background Barberton, the Daisy town, was named after Henry Barber in 1884, 24 July by the Gold Commissioner David Walson, after Barber and his cousin Fred discovered gold in the area. The mining of gold in South Africa began in Barberton, where Tom McLachlan found the first traces of alluvial gold in 1874. Since then, gold fields flourished as fortune seekers flocked to the area in search of gold. Today, the town has four gold mines that are more than 100 years and still in.. read more


Bloemfontein is the capital of the Free State Province, previously known as the Orange Free State. The city is known as the 'City of Roses', or Manguang, 'the place of cheetahs' and the landscape is predominantly dry grassland. Bloemfontein is currently the judicial capital of South Africa, and the seat of the Supreme Court of Appeal. .. read more

Cape Town

Also known as 'The Mother City', Cape Town is the largest city in the Western Cape Province, and was founded as a resupply stop for the Dutch East India Company. Today, Cape Town is the legislative capital of South Africa, and a popular tourist destination known for its beaches, vineyards and majestic landscapes and limitless ocean. .. read more

Cato Manor

History of Cato Manor.. read more

Crossroads Township

Crossroads Township is situated in Cape Town in the Wynberg district, some 12 km east of Athlone in the Western Cape Province... read more
(prior to 1910) Magisterial districtof 47 962 sq km (18 518 sq miles) in the North-Western Cape, after Gordonia(53 546... read more
Namibia, a former German colony, is situated towards the north west of South Africa. The Orange River marks the border... read more
(prior to 1910) In 1833 the Dutch Reformed Church in Swellendam determined to establish a new congregation to meet... read more
The temple was founded in 1896, and is controlled by the Narainsamy Family Trust. The building was designed and built... read more
The Botanical Gardens were founded in 1946 and now contains one of the most important and comprehensive collections of... read more
National Cultural Museum. Source: Known as the African Window, situated on Visagie Street, this... read more
The monument created by Anton van Wouw, was put up in 1913 in remembrance of the 26 370 Boer women and children... read more
An extremely popular spot providing excellent views of the town and the Franklin Game Reserve forms part of the hill.... read more
The racially segregated suburb of Ndabeni was established in about May 1901 near Maitland. It owes its origins to the... read more
(prior to 1910) The racially segregated suburb of Ndabeni was established in about May 1901 near Maitland, in the... read more
Ndabeni is a suburb of Cape Town in the Western Cape, located east of Maitland and north of Pinelands and some 8... read more
The ‘Nederduitsch Hervormde' congregation was founded on 8 and 9 September 1855 in Pretoria. It was one of... read more
Also known as Mbombela, Nelspruit is situated in the north eastern part of South Africa, in the Mmpumalanga Province.... read more
Situated on Samora Machel Avenue, the library is a rich source of information about the capital of Mpumalanga Province...
The New Africa Theatre Association (NATA), founded in 1987 by Mavis Taylor the head of University of Cape Town Drama... read more
(prior to 1910) During the South African War the British military authorities imported a large number of horses... read more
The building was opened in 1862 and in its time was the first teaching hospital in South Africa. It was declared a... read more
This row of late Victorian double-storey, semi-detached dwellings forms a unique terrace erected in the late 19th... read more
(prior to 1910) In 1700 Governor Willem van der Stel was granted land some 9km outside Cape Town, which he named De... read more
On 1 November 1859, a day known in the Christian calender as All Saints Day, Chief Fubu of the amaQwathi met with... read more
Opened on 19 May 1971 and was one of the production houses managed by Cape Performing Arts Board (CAPAB). It was named... read more
(prior to 1910) The village of Nieuwoudtville was established in 1897 on the farm Groenrivier which, as the name... read more
Further information Country profile: Niger, an easy-to-read resume of the country, with a timeline, news and... read more
Many reports claim that little is known about the earliest history of Nigeria. By c.2000 B.C. most of Nigeria was... read more
The building, designed by Herbert J Aldwyncle, was completed in 1906 for HS Wilson. This quaint design sought to... read more
The North West Province was part of the old Transvaal, and includes most of the parts of the old homeland,... read more
The Northern Cape is the largest province in South Africa, but has the least number of inhabitants. Before 1993 it was... read more
(prior to 1910) In 1865 a number of Mfengu clans were resettled in the area around Nqamakwe. As refugees from the... read more
Nyanga is one of the oldest Black townships in Cape Town. It was established in 1946 and proclaimed a township during... read more