During the apartheid period, Lebowa was the homeland of the North Sotho people. It became a semi-independent national state in 1972. The territory was fragmented into six separate areas scattered throughout the northern Transvaal. Seshego and Lebowakgomo, the capital, were the main growth points. The Chief Minister during most of the 1980s was Dr C N M Phatudi. In 1994, it was reincorporated into South Africa and it became part of the Limpopo Province.

Feature Parent: 

Last updated : 14-Mar-2018

This article was produced for South African History Online on 16-Mar-2011