A panel of judges consisting of Omar Badsha, Mary Corrigall, David Goldblatt, Thembinkosi Goniwe and Riason Naidoo has awarded the following photographers with a prize of R20 000.00

Chris Ledochowski, Nthabalala Village, Limpopo, Santu Mofokeng, Let’s talk... and Oupa Nkosi, Black Diamonds

Honourable mentions

Araminta de Clermont, Life after, Angelo Kalmeyer, Symphony Way pavement dwellers, Sabelo Mlangeni, Men only, Jabulani Patrick Dhlamini, The twins, Alexia Webster, Rosendal High

There are many essays in the Bonani Africa 2010 Exhibition that straddles the twin worlds of social comment and the exploration of the everyday. The space between the mainstream and the margins is where many of the photographers, in this exhibition, work. Working with very little resources and, at times, at great personal costs to produce extraordinary images they help us see and experience the world in new ways.

Our aim, in the coming year, is to start planning for the next Bonani Africa Photography Festival, in 2012. Through this festival, we hope to provide a space for photographers from South Africa and across the continent to initiate a dialogue about image making and to support photographers to deepen the democratic space.

Listed below are the 58 photographers who submitted photographic essays to the Bonani Africa 2010 Festival of Photography:

Lenore Cairncross, Araminta de Clermont, Wikus de Wet, Tracey Derrick, Jabulani Patrick Dhlamini, Ellen Elmendorp, Julian Goldswain, Yuven Gounden, Gary Hirson, George Hugo, Angelo Kalmeyer, Yazeed Kamaldien, Antony Kaminju, Krystal Kruger, Iliso Labantu Photo Group (Phiwokuhle Budaza, Siseko Mkita, Thobile Nompunga and Lindeka Qampi), Jason Laure, David Lurie, Chris Ledochowski, Nicole Maddalozzo, Lerato Maduna, Noncedo Mathibela, William Matlala, Rafique Mayet, Goodluck Mbhele, Mawanda Isaac Mbongela, Cecile Mella, Sabelo Mlangeni, Kutlwano Moagi, Santu Mofokeng, Ayanda Ndamane, Khaya Ngwenya, Karen Nieuwoudt, Oupa Nkosi, Mads Norgaard, Cedric Nunn, Ruth Nussbaum, Padraic O'Meara, Adriaan Oosthuizen, Juan Orrantia, Malcolm Phafane, Witney M Rasaka, Samantha Reinders, Nikki Rixon, Dave Robertson, Masimba Sasa, Damien Schumann, Marc Schoul, Jason Smith, Allister Starke, Melinda Stuurman, Andrew Tshabangu, Belinka Unger, Danny van der Merwe, Cindy Waxa and Alexia Webster

If you require further information please email Omar Badsha (Festival Director) at bonaniafrica@sahistory.org.za

Collections in the Archives