The Land Claims Court of South Africa

The Land Claims Court was established in 1995 and has the same status as the High Courts. This court specializes in hearing disputes that arise out of laws that underpin South Africa's land reform initiative. These are the Restitution of Land Rights Act, 1994, the Land Reform (Labour Tenants) Act, 1996 and the Extension of Security of Tenure Act, 1997.This is in line with the South African Constitution which gave people and communities who had been dispossessed of land after 19 June 1913 as a result of racially discriminatory laws or practices the right to restitution of that property or to fair compensation.The Supreme Court of Appeal handles any appeal against a decision of the Land Claims Court, and if appropriate, to the Constitutional Court.

The Land Claims Court has its main seat is in Randburg, Johannesburg but it can hold hearings in any part of the country if it thinks this will make it more accessible and it can conduct its proceedings in an informal way if this is appropriate.

Judges of the Land Claims Court

Judge President Judge Y Meer (Acting), Judge Y Meer, Judge B Moloto, Acting Judge C Sardiwalla, Acting Judge M Mpshe, Acting Judge Mngqibisa-Thusi, and Acting Judge Bertelsmann

• Western Cape Government (2013). The Courts of South Africa. Available at [Accessed online on 3 December 2013]
• Department of Justice and Constitutional Development.  The Land Claims Court.Available at [Accessed online on 3 December 2013]

Last updated : 25-Apr-2014

This article was produced by South African History Online on 25-Apr-2014

Support South African History Online

Donate and Make African History Matter

South African History Online is a non profit organisation. We depend on public support to build our website into the most comprehensive educational resource and encyclopaedia on African history.

Your support will help us to build and maintain partnerships with educational institutions in order to strengthen teaching, research and free access to our content.