South Africa Cabinet Members 2008 to 2009

Following the recall of Thabo Mbeki as President, Kgalema Motlanthe  was elected the President and announced his Cabinet on 25 September 2008.

Ministry / Portfolio

Minister / Incumbent

President of South Africa

Kgalema Motlanthe

Deputy President of South Africa

Baleka Mbete

Agriculture and Land Affairs

Lulama Xingwana

Arts and Culture

Pallo Jordan


Ivy Matsepe-Casaburri, until her death on 6 April 2009; then Manto Tshabalala-Msimang (acting)

Correctional Services

Ngconde Balfour


Charles Nqakula


Naledi Pandor

Environmental Affairs and Tourism

Marthinus van Schalkwyk


Trevor Manuel

Foreign Affairs

Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma


Barbara Hogan

Home Affairs

Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula


Lindiwe Sisulu

Intelligence Services

Siyabonga Cwele

Justice and Constitutional Development

Enver Surty


Membathisi Mdladlana

Minerals and Energy

Buyelwa Sonjica

Provincial and Local Government

Sicelo Shiceka

Public Enterprises

Brigitte Mabandla

Public Service and Administration

Richard Baloyi

Public Works

Geoff Doidge

Safety and Security

Nathi Mthethwa

Science and Technology

Mosibudi Mangena

Social Development

Zola Skweyiya

Sport and Recreation

Makhenkesi Stofile

The Presidency

Manto Tshabalala-Msimang

Trade and Industry

Mandisi Mpahlwa


Jeff Radebe

Water Affairs and Forestry

Lindiwe Hendricks


• History Matters,(2008). ‘List of new cabinet ministers’ from Timeslive, 09 July [online] Available at [Accessed 05 June 2014]

Last updated : 06-Jun-2014

This article was produced by South African History Online on 06-Jun-2014

Support South African History Online

Donate and Make African History Matter

South African History Online is a non profit organisation. We depend on public support to build our website into the most comprehensive educational resource and encyclopaedia on African history.

Your support will help us to build and maintain partnerships with educational institutions in order to strengthen teaching, research and free access to our content.