Hendrik Pieter Marthinus Steyn was born in Utrecht, Natal, 9 September, 1886. He was a Minister of the NG Kerk and secretary of the British... read more
Victor Poto was born in 1897 at Libode in western Pondoland, attended Healdtown and the' South African Native College (later Fort Hare),... read more
Chief Justice Sandile Ngcobo was born on 1 March 1953 in Durban, South Africa.  Ngcobo was the beneficiary of a scholarship from Barcla... read more
Pambani Jeremiah Mzimba was born in the 1850s at Ngqakayi in the Eastern Cape. His father, Ntibane Mzimba, was educated in Lovedale and beca... read more
Andrew Murray was born in Graaff-Reneit on 9 May 1828, the second child of Andrew Murray senior. He was sent to Arberdeen, Scotland to be ed... read more
James "Sofasonke" Mpanza was born in 1889. Mpanza was founder and leader from the mid-1940s of the Sofasonke Party of Orlando town... read more
Justice Yvonne Mokgoro was a judge of the Constitutional Court of South Africa from its inception in 1994 until the end of her 15 year term... read more
Reverend Mangena M Mokone was born at Bogaga, Sekhukhuneland (Transvaal) in 1851. His mother was daughter of Sephate and was from a royal li... read more
Matome Maponya was born on May 14 1949 in the Thabakgone village of Lephapane in the district of Tzaneen, where his parents eked out an exis... read more
Charles Templeman Loram was born in Pietermaritzburg in 1879. He studied at Cambridge and at Columbia University, where he completed a Ph.D.... read more
Please note: Silber, G. (1999) “Solomon Kerzner” from They Shaped our Century: The Most Influential South Africans of... read more
Johannes Jane Tane Kekana was born in 1840 in Moletlane, near Zebediela. A chief of the Lebelo clan of the Ndebele and the son of Lebelo Ser... read more