Stanley Mabizela was born in 1934, 7th of March in  Port Elizabeth, joined the liberation struggle at an early age when he first... read more
Moses Mbheki Mncane Mabhida was born in Thornville near Pietermaritzburg on 14 October 1923,he was  one of seven children in a rural fa... read more
Tiyani Lybon Mabasa was born in Johannesburg on 17 June 1952. The second of eight children, his single mother brought up Mabasa in Soweto.Du... read more
Jainub Jane Gool – Tabata was born in Cape Town on 19 March 1902 to Yusuf and Wageda Gool, the sixth of nine children. Her father, an immigr... read more
Appiah Saravanan (A.S.) Chetty was born in Pietermaritzburg, Natal (now KwaZulu-Natal) on 3 April 1929. He was the second of five children o... read more
This article was written by Nicolas Magnien and forms part of the SAHO Public History Internship. Neville Edward Alexander was the... read more
He was born in 19 December,1915 near Mafeteng, Basutoland (now Lesotho), the son of an Anglican minister. In 1940, while a student at L... read more
Mmusi Aloysias Maimane was born in Krugersdorp, Transvaal (now Gauteng) on 6 June 1980 to Ethel and Simon Maimane but grew up in Dobsonville... read more
Mac Maharaj was born on the 22 April 1935, the fourth of the eight children of Mr and Mrs NR Maharaj of Newcastle, Natal. He matriculated at... read more
Trevor Manuel was born in Kensington, Cape Town. His father, Abraham Manuel, worked for the Cape Town City Council. Manuel attended Harold C... read more
Pravin Jamnadas Gordhan was born in Durban, Natal (now KwaZulu-Natal), South Africa on 12 April 1949.  He matriculated from Sastri Coll... read more
Moses Mauane Kotane was born at Tamposstad in the Rustenburg district of the western Transvaal on 9th of August in 1905, Kotane came from a... read more