Cote D’Ivoire

Ivory Coast is a West African state bordering Ghana in the east, Burkina Faso, Mali in the north, and Guinea and Liberia in the east. To the south lies the Atlantic Ocean.

The first written records about Ivory Coast were by North African traders who visited south Saharan states in search of gold. The powerful Sudanese empires dominate the history of the Ivory Coast. It was from these empires that Islam spread to the northern regions of the Ivory Coast. After the collapse of the Sudanic empires, the Juula people in the north began to re-assert themselves and established the Kong kingdom. The Akan people also established their Abron kingdom that later dominated the Kong people. Another Akan kingdoms were the Bauole, and two Agni kingdoms. The Akan kingdoms introduced highly centralised political systems in Ivory Coast.

The first Europeans to visit the area where the Portuguese and later other Europeans followed. In 1842 the French declared the area their protectorate. Formal French colonial rule was introduced in the 1880s following the scramble for Africa. In 1904, Ivory Coast became part of French West Africa until 1960 when the country regained independence from France.

Before the first military coup of 1999, Ivory Coast was a model of stability and good economic growth. The consequences of military coup were economic breakdown and civil war splitting the country into two halves, north and south.

Further information

Last updated : 07-Jun-2018

This article was produced by South African History Online on 07-Oct-2011

Support South African History Online

Donate and Make African History Matter

South African History Online is a non profit organisation. We depend on public support to build our website into the most comprehensive educational resource and encyclopaedia on African history.

Your support will help us to build and maintain partnerships with educational institutions in order to strengthen teaching, research and free access to our content.