It was declared a National Monument under old NMC legislation on 6 April 1936.
(prior to 1910) The division of Paarl was originally part of the district of Stellenbosch, and was proclaimed a... read more
(prior to 1910) The settlement of Hooge Kraal was established in 1813 as a station of the London Missionary Society (... read more
Fietas (as the place was popularly known) is one of the oldest communities in the western suburbs of Johannesburg, and... read more
Construction on the Pakhuis Pass began in 1875, and was carried out by convict labour under the direction of Thomas... read more
This is an imposing double-storey structure, erected in about 1785. From 1886 it was used as a military barracks and... read more
Pampierstad (now Thuso a Sotho or Tswana word meaning Help/Assistance) was established in the former homeland of... read more
Parow was a residential suburb of Cape Town, located some 16km from the city centre. It was established by Johann... read more
The dwelling is a low single-storey structure with few architectural features of note. However it was spacious and well... read more