House of Parliament, Cape Town

House of Parliament, Cape Town Image source

The houses of South African Houses of Parliament are situated in Cape Town even though the seat of government is in Pretoria. This was part of a compromise agreed upon at the formation of the Union of south Africa in 1910. According to this compromise cape Town would be the legislative capital, Bloemfontein the judicial capital and Pretoria would be the administrative capital.

Google map: 

Last updated : 07-Dec-2017

This article was produced by South African History Online on 14-Jul-2011

Support South African History Online

Donate and Make African History Matter

South African History Online is a non profit organisation. We depend on public support to build our website into the most comprehensive educational resource and encyclopaedia on African history.

Your support will help us to build and maintain partnerships with educational institutions in order to strengthen teaching, research and free access to our content.