Afrikaans community, 1883-1899

First white settlers

*Also spelt “Trichardt”

Few Afrikaner people visited the Zoutpansberg Region before the first Voortrekker Leaders, Louis Tregardt* (1783–1838) and Lang Hans van Rensburg crossed the Pietersburg Plateau during 1836. However they where not permanent residents and only during 1848 did Andries Hendrik Potgieter (1792-1852) arrive to establish a permanent Afrikaner settlement in this part of the world, as agreed with Tregardt ten years earlier.

Last updated : 04-Jul-2011

This article was produced by South African History Online on 04-Jul-2011