The inauguration of the University of the Witwatersrand (Wits) is celebrated

Wednesday, 4 October 1922

The inauguration of the University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg (Wits) was celebrated a few months after the University College, Johannesburg was granted full university status on 1 March 1922. Prince Arthur of Connaught, governor-general of the Union of South Africa, became the University's first chancellor, and Professor Jan H. Hofmeyr its first principal. Building began at Milner Park on a site donated to the University by the Johannesburg municipality.


  1. Wallis, F. (2000). Nuusdagboek: feite en fratse oor 1000 jaar, Kaapstad: Human & Rousseau
  2. Potgieter, D.J. et al. (eds)(1970). Standard Encyclopaedia of Southern Africa, Cape Town: NASOU, v. 11, p. 473.

Last updated : 30-Sep-2016

This article was produced for South African History Online on 16-Mar-2011