Freedom Day was first celebrated on 27 April 1994Source : Day was first celebrated on 27 April 1994, when the first democratic election was held. Photo by: Greg Marinovich .. read more


Click here for more of today´s events


Wednesday, 25 April 2018



South African History Online

Industrial and Commercial Workers Union (ICU)

During the 1920s, the South African Native National Congress (SANNC) - which changed its name to the African National Congress (ANC) in 1923 - did not accomplish a great deal to improve the lives of black South Africans.

South Africa - First 20 Years of Democracy (1994 - 2014)

South Africa’s advent to democracy was ushered through the 1993 Interim Constitution, drawn up through negotiations among various political parties, culminating in the country’s first non-racial election in 1994.

Adelaide Frances Tambo

Adelaide Frances Tambo (nee Tshukudu) was born on 18 July 1929 in Top Location, Vereeniging, in the Vaal Triangle. Tambo attended the St Thomas Practising School in Johannesburg and Orlando High. She worked as a nurse at the Pretoria General Hospital and at an old people's home in London.

South African Communist Party (SACP)

On 30 July 2011, the South African Communist Party (SACP) celebrated its 90th anniversary. Initially known as the Communist Party of South Africa (CPSA), the party changed its name to the South African Communist Party (SACP) in 1953, after it had been forced underground.

The International Socialist League (ISL)

The International Socialist League (ISL) was formed in September 1915. It was created by a progressive faction of the South African Labour Party (SALP) as a reaction to the party’s support for South Africa’s participation in the First World War.


Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU)

The Congress of South African Trade Unions (Cosatu) was launched on 1 December 1985, at the height of the struggle against apartheid. 

Elections in post Apartheid South Africa

South Africa’s democratic system was endorsed by voters drawn from across the country’s racial divide in April 1994. There is little doubt that coming from a history of a racially divided society, people voted for their skin colour in 1994 over policies.

The History of May Day in South Africa

The struggle for a shorter workday, a demand of major political significance for the working class dates back to the 1800s. On 7 October 1884, the Federation of Organized Trades and Labor Unions, in the United States of America and Canada resolved that eight hours should constitute a legal day's labour as of 01 May 1886.

The 1913 Mineworkers’ Strike

The formation of the Union of South Africa in 1910 was a development that had vastly different consequences for the various groups in the four former colonies.