Faculty of Health Sciences, UCT Observatory

Faculty of Health Sciences at UCT Image source

The oldest medical school in South Africa, offer a variety of educational, training and academic career options within the context of health care and research - from clinical and public health to health and rehabilitation sciences. The Groote Schuur Medical campus is positioned between Main Road and the highway and is next to the Groote Schuur Hospital which is the academic hospital of UCT’s medical school. It is at this campus that the museum of the first heart transplant can be found. The campus is impressive with its old world charm and begs a visit from every person who finds himself in the City and is visited by many medical students, specialist and residents.
1912: Beginning of the Faculty of Medicine
1951: Joint Staff agreement signed to formalise the faculty.
1967: First successful heart transplant and pioneering research for the CAT scanner.
1983: Groote Schuur Campus declared a national monument.
1984: Major extensions done on the campus.
1996: Groote Schuur Hospital declared a Western Cape Heritage Site.
Google map: 

Last updated : 14-Nov-2017

This article was produced by South African History Online on 14-Nov-2017

Support South African History Online

Dear friends of SAHO

South African History Online (SAHO) needs your support.

SAHO is one of the most visited websites in South Africa with over 6 million unique users a year. Our goal is to fulfill our mandate and continue to build, and make accessible, a new people’s history of South Africa and Africa.

Please help us deliver this by contributing upwards of $1.00 a month for the next 12 months.

Make a donation here and send us a message of support.