Hillside House, 14 Bird Street, Port Elizabeth

The property was originally granted to George Daniel Diesel in 1824. The building was presumably erected after that date and is richly decorated with a number of Victorian architectural elements. In its time it has accommodated a number of well-known Port Elizabeth citizens, including its Harbour Master, the Civil Commissioner and James Somers Kirkwood, after whom the village was named. It was declared a National Monument under old NMC legislation on 9 December 1988.


References:
•  9/2/073/0039
Google map: 

Last updated : 07-Dec-2017

This article was produced by South African History Online on 14-Jul-2011

Support South African History Online

Dear friends of SAHO

South African History Online (SAHO) needs your support.

SAHO is one of the most visited websites in South Africa with over 6 million unique users a year. Our goal is to fulfill our mandate and continue to build, and make accessible, a new people’s history of South Africa and Africa.

Please help us deliver this by contributing upwards of $1.00 a month for the next 12 months.



Make a donation here and send us a message of support.