Rand Afrikaans University is established


University of Johannesburg logoUniversity of Johannesburg Logo. Source:https://www.trueknowledge.com/q/facts_abo

Tuesday, 18 October 1966

The Rand Afrikaans University (RAU), the second university with its seat in Johannesburg, was established by an act of parliament as the academic home of Afrikaans-speaking students. Through its academic excellence and relevance, the University managed to attract students, academics, donors and business partners from all communities and language groups.

Following restructuring of higher education introduced by the minister of education, Prof. Kader Asmal, the University was merged with the Witwatersrand Technikon and the two Vista campuses of Soweto and the East Rand, to form the University of Johannesburg (UJ). UJ was officially launched on 1 January 2005. It now boasts four campuses, Auckland Park Kingsway, Auckland Park Bunting, Doornfontein and Soweto. The University now has approximately 46 000 students spread over five campuses across the city.



• Potgieter, D.J. et al. (eds) (1970). Standard Encyclopaedia of Southern Africa, Volume 9. Cape Town: NASOU. p.238
• UJ (2010). ‘About UJ’from University of Johannesburg [online]. Available at www.uj.ac.za[Accessed 8 September 2011]

Last updated : 18-Oct-2013

This article was produced by South African History Online on 16-Mar-2011

Support South African History Online

Donate and Make African History Matter

South African History Online is a non profit organisation. We depend on public support to build our website into the most comprehensive educational resource and encyclopaedia on African history.

Your support will help us to build and maintain partnerships with educational institutions in order to strengthen teaching, research and free access to our content.