KaNgwane was the homeland of the Swazi people living in South Africa. It was situated along the border with Swaziland, and its capital was at Louieville. In 1984, it was granted self-governance. In 1994 it was reintegrated into South Africa, like the other nine homelands, and it became part of the Mpumalanga Province.

Google map: 

Last updated : 23-Feb-2018

This article was produced by South African History Online on 16-Mar-2011

Support South African History Online

Donate and Make African History Matter

South African History Online is a non profit organisation. We depend on public support to build our website into the most comprehensive educational resource and encyclopaedia on African history.

Your support will help us to build and maintain partnerships with educational institutions in order to strengthen teaching, research and free access to our content.