Natal becomes a Voortrekker Republic

Friday, 14 February 1840

After the defeat of the Zulu Kingdom, the Voortrekkers declared Natal south of the Tugela River a Voortrekker Republic, with the Umzimvubu River as southern border, the Black Mfolozi as the northern border, the sea to the east and without mentioning of the western border. The Zulu Kingdom was situated north of Tugela River.

  1. Wallis, F. (2000). Nuusdagboek: feite en fratse oor 1000 jaar, Kaapstad: Human & Rousseau.)

Last updated : 27-Jan-2014

This article was produced by South African History Online on 16-Mar-2011

Support South African History Online

Dear friends of SAHO

South African History Online (SAHO) needs your support.

SAHO is one of the most visited websites in South Africa with over 6 million unique users a year. Our goal is to fulfill our mandate and continue to build, and make accessible, a new people’s history of South Africa and Africa.

Please help us deliver this by contributing upwards of $1.00 a month for the next 12 months.

Make a donation here and send us a message of support.