Paul Kruger is elected president

Paul Kruger Image source

Monday, 16 April 1883

After the abolition of the triumvirate, consisting of Vice-President Paul Kruger, Commander-General Piet Joubert and W.M. Pretorius, Paul Kruger was elected president of the Transvaal State (the new name of the Zuid-Afrikaansche Republiek after the signing of the Pretoria Convention on 3 August 1881) for the first time. He won the election against Joubert with 3 471 votes to 1 171. Kruger was sworn in on 9 May 1883 as state president and announced a policy based on Christian principles.

The election took place after a prolonged liberation struggle waged by the Boer republic against the British in the 19th century. The struggle can be traced back to 12 April 1877, when Theophilus Shepstone, despite Boer protests, hoisted the Union Jack on Church Square in Pretoria and annexed the Zuid-Afrikaansche Republiek (ZAR or Transvaal Republic) as a British colony.

In 1880 the Boers launched a war of independence, which was known as the First Anglo-Boer War or First South African War. On 27 February 1881, they gained a convincing victory over the British at the Battle of Majuba Hill and the Republic regained its partial independence soon afterwards as the Transvaal State. Kruger was re-elected for three more five year terms.

• Kruger, D.W. (ed) (1972). Dictionary of South African Biography, Cape Town: Human Sciences Research Council, v. 1, p. 449. Potgieter, D.J. et al. (eds)(1970). Standard Encyclopaedia of Southern Africa, Cape Town: NASOU, v.10, p. 610.
• Wallis, F. (2000). Nuusdagboek: feite en fratse oor 1000 jaar, Kaapstad: Human & Rousseau.Franck-Weiby, G., 'EEN POND' of 'OOM PAUL' - a coin and note of the Boer War, from Oregon Coin Clubs, [online], Available at [Accessed: 16 April 2014]
• LOROSAB, "The First Anglo-Boer War - 1881", from League of Researchers of South African Historical Battlefields, [online], Available at [Accessed: 16 April 2014]

Last updated : 13-Apr-2017

This article was produced by South African History Online on 16-Mar-2011

Support South African History Online

Dear friends of SAHO

South African History Online (SAHO) needs your support.

SAHO is one of the most visited websites in South Africa with over 6 million unique users a year. Our goal is to fulfill our mandate and continue to build, and make accessible, a new people’s history of South Africa and Africa.

Please help us deliver this by contributing upwards of $1.00 a month for the next 12 months.

Make a donation here and send us a message of support.