South Africa is said to resume its membership of the Commonwealth

Tuesday, 31 May 1994

On 31 May 1994, the Secretary-General of the Commonwealth of Nations, Chief Emeka Anyaouku told reporters at the Commonwealth Headquarters in London, that South Africa would resume its membership of the Commonwealth, effective on 1 June 1994.

The Commonwealth is a voluntary organization of independent countries; most of these countries are British colonies. South Africa withdrew its membership in 1961 under the leadership of Dr. Verw oerd.


  1. Commonwealth, (1994), ‘The Commonwealth of Nations,’ [online] Available at , [Last accessed: 05 May 2011]

  2. O'Malley, P.(1994), ‘1994,’ from Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory, [online] Available at , [Last accessed: 5 May 2011]

Last updated : 31-May-2013

This article was produced for South African History Online on 01-Jun-2011