South African Congress of Trade Unions (SACTU) is formed


Saturday, 5 March 1955

The South African Congress of Trade Unions (SACTU) was formed during an Inaugural Conference held on 4 and 5 March 1955 in the Trades Hall, Johannesburg. SACTU was the leading non-racial trade union co-coordinating body, and ally of the African National Congress (ANC) led Congress Alliance. The federation suffered major reversals after the banning of political organisations in 1960. Many SACTU members were also members of organisations like the South African Communist Party (SACP), the ANC, South African Indian Congress (SAIC) and the South African Coloured People's Organisation (SACPO).

Following the Sharpeville Massacre, most SACTU office bearers were exiled, banned, banished or imprisoned for ANC and MK activities. Those office bearers in exile re-established the organisation and used it to mobilise international solidarity against the apartheid regime.

With the unbanning of political organisations in 1990, SACTU decided to disband and some of its leadership was absorbed into the Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU).

• SAHO Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU) [online] Available at: [Accessed on 28 March 2013]
• COSATU Brief history of COSATU [Online] Available at:[Accessed on 28 March 2013]

Last updated : 27-Feb-2017

This article was produced by South African History Online on 16-Mar-2011

Support South African History Online

Dear friends of SAHO

South African History Online (SAHO) needs your support.

SAHO is one of the most visited websites in South Africa with over 6 million unique users a year. Our goal is to fulfill our mandate and continue to build, and make accessible, a new people’s history of South Africa and Africa.

Please help us deliver this by contributing upwards of $1.00 a month for the next 12 months.

Make a donation here and send us a message of support.