Standard Bank becomes the first bank to opens its doors on the Witwatersrand


Standard Bank Logo

Monday, 11 October 1886

Standard Bank was established in Port Elizabeth in 1862, then known as The Standard Bank of British South Africa. It started doing business in a tent in Johannesburg, then known as Ferreira's Camp, in 1886, when it became the first bank to open a branch on the Witwatersrand gold fields. The second branch in Johannesburg was opened in Eloff Street on 1 November 1901. In 1959 it moved its head office from Pretoria to Johannesburg and in 1970 it took ownership of a prestigious new head office building at 78 Fox Street.

The bank has grown to span 17 African countries and 16 countries across South East Asia, Latin America and Eastern Europe. The bank now boasts a multi-million Standard Bank Centre head office located in Simmonds Street, Johannesburg.

• Standard Bank, ‘Standard Bank reinforces its commitment to the Johannesburg CBD’, From: Standard Bank,[online]. Available at [Accessed: 02 October 2013]

Last updated : 02-Oct-2013

This article was produced by South African History Online on 16-Mar-2011

Support South African History Online

Dear friends of SAHO

South African History Online (SAHO) needs your support.

SAHO is one of the most visited websites in South Africa with over 6 million unique users a year. Our goal is to fulfill our mandate and continue to build, and make accessible, a new people’s history of South Africa and Africa.

Please help us deliver this by contributing upwards of $1.00 a month for the next 12 months.

Make a donation here and send us a message of support.