Cuthbert’s Building, Eloff Street, Johannesburg

Cuthberts Building Image source

The firm of WM Cuthbert & Co, shoe merchants, was established in 1882. Their Johannesburg building was designed by architects Stucke & Bannister and was completed in 1904. It rapidly became a major landmark in the mining town and retains many of its Victorian details. It was declared a National Monument under old NMC legislation on 27 June 1986.

Google map: 

Last updated : 09-May-2017

This article was produced by South African History Online on 14-Jul-2011

Support South African History Online

Dear friends of SAHO

South African History Online (SAHO) needs your support.

SAHO is one of the most visited websites in South Africa with over 6 million unique users a year. Our goal is to fulfill our mandate and continue to build, and make accessible, a new people’s history of South Africa and Africa.

Please help us deliver this by contributing upwards of $1.00 a month for the next 12 months.



Make a donation here and send us a message of support.