Organisations involved in the Liberation Struggle


Dr Alan Boesak, Archie Gumede and Mrs Naicker at the launch. © Omar Badsha, SAHODr Alan Boesak, Archie Gumede and Mrs Naicker at the launch. © Omar Badsha, SAHODr Alan Boesak, Archie Gumede and Mrs Naicker at the launch. © Omar Badsha, SAHO

Political Organisations

African National Congress (ANC)

Pan Africanist Congress (PAC)

South African Coloured People Organisation (SACPO)

South African Congress of Democrats (COD)

Federation of South African Women (FEDSAW)

South African Indian Congress (SAIC)

South African Communist Party (SACP)

uMkhonto weSizwe (MK)

Non European Unity Movement (NEUM)

African People's Organisation (APO)

Azanian People's Organization (AZAPO)

Liberal Party of South Africa (LPSA)

African Resistance Movement (ARM)

National Liberation Front (NLF) (Yu Chi Chan Club)




Youth and Student Organisations

Black Conciousness Movement

South African Students Movement

South African Students Organisation (SASO)

Black People's Convention (BPC)

African Student's Association (ASA)

African Student Union of South Africa (ASUSA)

Durban Students Union 

Cape Peninsula Student Union

Society of Young Africa (SOYA)

National Union of South African Students (NUSAS)

University Christian Movement (UCM)

Transvaal Indian Youth Congress (TIYC)

African National Youth League (ANCYL)

Young Communist League of South Africa (YCLSA)

Transvaal Youth Organisation (TYO)

Cape Border Youth Union (Eastern Cape)

Western Cape Youth Organisation 

Student of Young Azania (SOYA)


Natal Youth Organisation 

Society for Young Development

Black Youth Cultural Organisation

League of African Youth

Border Youth Organisation

Junior African Student Congress

National Youth Organisation

African Student Movement

South African Black Scholars Association

Congress of South African Students (COSAS)

Soutn African National Students Congress

South African Youth Congress (SAYCO)

South African Youth Revolutionary Council (SAYRCO)

Cape Youth Congress (CAYCO)

Lenasia Youth League (LYL)

South African Students Congress (SASCO)

South African National Student Congress (SANCO)

African Students Association (ASA)


Women's Organisations

AZAPO's Women's Wing - Imbeleko

Bantu Women's League

ANC Women's League (ANCWL)

The Black Sash

Black Women's Federation

The Federation of South African Women (FEDSAW)

Federation of Transvaal Women (FEDTRAW)

Garment Workers Union (GWU)

National Council of African Women (NCAW)

Natal Organisation of Women (NOW)

PAC's African Women's Organisation

UDF's Women's Congress

United Women's Congress (UWCO)

Women's Enfranchisement Association of the Union (WEAU)

Women's National Coalition 


Last updated : 28-Jul-2014

This article was produced by South African History Online on 05-Jun-2013