Isithwalandwe/Seaparankoe is the highest honour awarded by the ANC to those who have made an outstanding contribution and sacrifice to the liberation struggle. Isithwalandwe, literally translated, means "the one who wears the plumes of the rare bird" and was traditionally bestowed only on the bravest warriors of the people, on those who distinguished themselves in the eyes of all the people for exceptional qualities of leadership and heroism.

Chief Albert Luthuli, Dr Yusuf Dadoo and Father Trevor Huddleston were the first leaders to received Isithwalandwe / Seaparankoe, at the Congress of the People in 1955. The most recent recipients, in 2014, were Ruth Mompati and Gertrude Shope.

Name Year
Albert Luthuli 1955
Trevor Huddleston 1955
Yusuf Dadoo 1955
Moses Mauane Kotane 1975
Govan Mbeki 1980
Bishop Ambrose Reeves 1980
Lilian Ngoyi 1982
Oliver Reginald Tambo 1992
Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela 1992
Walter Sisulu 1992
Helen Joseph 1992
Ahmed Kathrada 1992
Harry Gwala 1992
Elias Motsoaledi 1992
Raymond Mhlaba 1992
Wilton Mkwai 1992
Joe Slovo 1994
Ray Alexander Simons 2004
Chris Hani 2008
Ruth Mompati 2014
Gertrude Shope 2014