In this topic we will look at the heritage and identity of South Africa’s different provinces, including each one’s government and symbols. We will also look at oral tradition and indigenous knowledge of the meaning of the names of places and other landmarks. Lastly, the role of a democratically elected leader and how citizens can participate in a democracy will be explored.

South Africa became a Union in 1910 after its four provinces were united. Later ‘homelands’ were created for black people to be sent to live separately from white people. In 1993 the country was organised into nine provinces as part of its new shape as a democracy. The different provinces each have their own special history and each one contributes to making South Africa the country it is. Each province has its own government, and provinces are also well represented in the national parliament through a Council of Provinces. Each province has its own special symbols and identity.

Collections in the Archives