The Bloemfontein Convention is signed

Thursday, 23 February 1854

The Republic of the Orange Free State was established by the signing of the Bloemfontein Convention (also called the Orange River Convention) between Sir George Clerk (for Britain) and twenty-five 'representatives of the people' in Green Lodge, Bloemfontein. The convention guaranteed the independence of the territory between the Orange and Vaal Rivers. In addition to the declaration of independence, the document also contained clauses regarding treaties with indigenous people, prohibition of slavery, and regulating trade.

• Potgieter, D.J. et al. (eds) (1970). Standard Encyclopaedia of Southern Africa, Cape Town: NASOU, v. 2, p. 373.
•  Wallis, F. (2000). Nuusdagboek: feite en fratse oor 1000 jaar, Kaapstad: Human & Rousseau.

Last updated : 22-Feb-2017

This article was produced by South African History Online on 16-Mar-2011

Support South African History Online

Donate and Make African History Matter

South African History Online is a non profit organisation. We depend on public support to build our website into the most comprehensive educational resource and encyclopaedia on African history.

Your support will help us to build and maintain partnerships with educational institutions in order to strengthen teaching, research and free access to our content.