2 September 1879
In mid-January 1879 Lt-Gen. Lord Chelmsford invaded Zululand with three columns of British troops, starting the war that ended Zulu independence. After the initial crushing defeat of the British at Isandlwana and the Britains’ heroic defence of Rorke's Drift, the tide turned against the Zulus. Ulundi, the capital of Zulu Chief Cetshwayo(Cetewayo) was burnt down and his impis (Zulu soldiers) were defeated.   Cetshwayo was captured on 28 August and on 2 September Britain signed a peace treaty with the Zulus. According to the treaty Zululand was divided into thirteen separate chiefdoms under a chief elected by the British who was complaint to British rule. The treaty ensured that future unification of the Zulu was not possible, creating ripe ground for internal divisions and warfare. Cetshwayo was exiled and despatched to Cape Town on 15 September 1879. The Zulu nation did not accept the pro-British chiefs and civil war reigned for decades to come. Cetshwayo was restored as ruler in 1883, but this did not bring peace to the war-torn area. Links: Feature: The Anglo-Zulu War.

Wallis, F. (2000). Nuusdagboek: feite en fratse oor 1000 jaar, Kaapstad: Human & Rousseau|Potgieter, D.J. et al. (eds)(1970). Standard Encyclopaedia of Southern Africa, Cape Town: NASOU, v. 11, p. 598.