7 July 1988
Five prominent anti-apartheid activists were released in Cape Town after being detained for up to two years under the Internal Security Act. The five are Trevor Manuel, Ebrahim Rasool, Mountrain Qumbela and Hilda Ndude, all officials of the United Democratic Front (UDF) in the Western Cape region, and Mzonke Jacobs, president of the Cape Youth Congress (CAYCO). Three of them, Manuel, Rasool, and Jacobs, were served with restriction orders limiting their movements and activities and barring them from speaking to the press. It was believed they were detained in the hope of weakening the powerful structures of the UDF in the Western Cape. Source: South African History Online. website: www.sahistory.org.za