Forced Removals commence from District Six

Hanover Street, District Six (1964) Image source

Friday, 11 February 1966

The memory of District Six, also known as Kanaladorp  (kanala is a Malay word meaning ‘help one another’), is marked by the event of 11 February 1966. On this day the district was declared a ‘White area’ under the 1950 Group Areas Act of the Apartheid government.

Before the passing of the Group Areas Act, multiracial spaces such as District Six were not uncommon as residential areas were segregated on the basis of class rather than race.The aim of the Group Areas Act was very much to racialise space.At the time of the proclamation 56% of the district’s property was ‘White’-owned, 26% ‘Coloured’ owned and 18% was Indian owned- therefore P.W Botha’s 1966 announcement stating that District Six would be redeveloped for White occupation was met with widespread protest.However, for the residents of District Six, their fate was sealed. The first demolitions began in 1968, when homes and businesses were destroyed, and the only buildings left standing were places of worship. Over a period of 15 years, non-White members of the District Six community were forcibly moved, mainly to the Belhartownship,Rylands Estate and Hanover Park on the Cape Flats.

Last updated : 08-Feb-2017

This article was produced by South African History Online on 08-Feb-2017

Support South African History Online

Donate and Make African History Matter

South African History Online is a non profit organisation. We depend on public support to build our website into the most comprehensive educational resource and encyclopaedia on African history.

Your support will help us to build and maintain partnerships with educational institutions in order to strengthen teaching, research and free access to our content.