17 June 1991
The Population registration Act (Act No 30 of 1950 ) was repealed by the South African parliament. The Act was a pillar of the Apartheid system. It required people to register from birth as belonging to one of four different racial groups, White, Black, Coloured and Indian. The Act was repealed by the Population Registration Act No 114 of 1991.