Pretoria receives city status


Pretoria City HallPretoria City Hall. Source::

Wednesday, 14 October 1931

On 14 October 1931, Pretoria achieved official city status. The city was established in 1855 by Marthinus Pretorius, a leader of the Voortrekkers who named it after his father Andries Pretorius. Andries Pretorius became a hero of the Voortrekkers after he defeated the Zulus in the Battle of Blood River.

The city became the Administrative Capital of the Union of South Africa which was constituted in 1910 with the merger of the Transvaal Colony (former Boer Republic of the ZAR), the Orange Free State Colony (former Boer Republic of the Orange Free State), the Cape Colony and Natal Colony.

Thirty years later, in 1961, when the Union of South Africa became completely independent of England and became a republic, Pretoria retained its position of Administrative Capital of the Republic of South Africa. While Johannesburg was the scene of many dramatic incidents, Pretoria was the place where apartheid was actually administered from.

• (2011). ‘History’ from City of Tshwane Pretoria: History [online] Available at [Accessed 02 September 2011]
• (2011). ‘History of Pretoria’ from Visit Pretoria: Visitors Guide to Pretoria [online] Available at [Accessed 26 September 2011]

Last updated : 14-Nov-2013

This article was produced by South African History Online on 16-Mar-2011

Support South African History Online

Donate and Make African History Matter

South African History Online is a non profit organisation. We depend on public support to build our website into the most comprehensive educational resource and encyclopaedia on African history.

Your support will help us to build and maintain partnerships with educational institutions in order to strengthen teaching, research and free access to our content.