South Sudan is declared an independent state

South Sudan celebrates independence Image source

Saturday, 9 July 2011

After five decades of unrest and civil war, South Sudan was granted independence on 9 July 2011 with the town of Juba as a capital. The declaration of independence marked “the end” of intermittent clashes with the north. Salva Kiir became the first President of the newly born African state. The emotional Kiir said after he was inaugurated; “We were bombed, maimed, enslaved, treated worse than a refugee in our own country, but we have to forgive, although we will not forget. Some of our suffering has been self-inflicted. We have squabbled over issues that could be solved peacefully.”

• Matt R. and Maram M. (2011) ‘South Sudan Becomes 193rd Independent Nation After Half-Century Rebellion’, from Bloomberg, 9 July, [online], available at 29 May 2012)
• Sudan Tribune, (2012), ‘Sudan & South Sudan set to resume post-secession talks’, [online], available at 29 May 2012)
• Daily News, (2012), ‘Four prisoners released to Thabo Mbeki’, 21 May, [online], available at 29 May 2012)

Last updated : 06-Jul-2017

This article was produced by South African History Online on 05-Jul-2012

Support South African History Online

Donate and Make African History Matter

South African History Online is a non profit organisation. We depend on public support to build our website into the most comprehensive educational resource and encyclopaedia on African history.

Your support will help us to build and maintain partnerships with educational institutions in order to strengthen teaching, research and free access to our content.