Trial of nine BPC and SASO leaders ends


SASO logo

Tuesday, 21 December 1976

The lengthy trial of nine student leaders from the Black People's Convention (BPC) and the South African Students' Organisation (SASO) ended on this date. They were found guilty under the Terrorism Act and sentenced to periods of imprisonment, three for six years and six for five years. The next day they were driven from Pretoria to Cape Town in the back of a police van, and from there taken to Robben Island.

The nine were first detained by Security Police in October 1974, following a Viva FRELIMO rally in Durban in September of that year. The trial commenced in the Pretoria Supreme Court in 1975.  Amongst the accused were Mosioua Lekota, Mweni Musa, Nkwenkwe Nkomo and Maitshe Mokoape.

• Kalley, J.A.; Schoeman, E. & Andor, L.E. (eds)(1999). Southern African Political History: a chronology of key political events from independence to mid-1997, Westport: Greenwood.
• The Graphic, (1974), BCP pair claim "We're being harassed", from The Graphic, 03 January, [online], Available at

Last updated : 12-Dec-2014

This article was produced by South African History Online on 16-Mar-2011

Support South African History Online

Donate and Make African History Matter

South African History Online is a non profit organisation. We depend on public support to build our website into the most comprehensive educational resource and encyclopaedia on African history.

Your support will help us to build and maintain partnerships with educational institutions in order to strengthen teaching, research and free access to our content.