4 July 1961
A United Nations (UN) committee consisting of eight, with instructions to investigate conditions in the Mandated Territory of South Africa, was refused permission to enter South-West Africa (now Namibia). The minister of Foreign Affairs, Eric Louw, announced that if members of the committee try to enter they will be detained and sent back and that it would involve the United Nations in an act of aggression. References: Kalley, J.A.; Schoeman, E. & Andor, L.E. (eds)(1999). Southern African Political History: a chronology of key political events from independence to mid-1997, Westport: Greenwood.