On 29 October 1964, the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar was renamed the United Republic of Tanzania. Tanganyika became independent on 9 December 1961 from a United Kingdom (UK) ruled United Nations (UN) trusteeship and Zanzibar gained its independence on 19 December 1963. Geographically, the country is located on the eastern parts of Africa. Julius “Teacher” Nyerere became the first President of the United Republic of Tanzania with Sheikh Abeid Karume as Vice President. Their national anthem "Mungu ibariki Afrika" (God Bless Africa) shares the same lyrics with those of the South African national anthem “Nkosi Sikelel’iAfrica” (God Bless Africa) which was composed by South Africa’s Enoch Sontonga. In 1992, Tanzania (as it is currently known) adopted a Multiparty Democracy System which called for major constitutional amendments.      

Anon., ‘Tanzania Government Profile 2011’from Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), [online] Available at www.indexmundi.com  [Accessed: 28 October 2013]|Anon, Background history of the union between Tanganyika and Zanzibar, [online], Available at www.vpo.go.tz [Accessed: 28 October 2013]