The University of Port Elizabeth is founded



Friday, 31 January 1964

The University of Port Elizabeth (UPE), came into being on 31 January 1964 with the adoption by Parliament of Act 1 of 1964. The first academic year commenced on 1 March 1965. Built on 830 hectares of land donated by the then Port Elizabeth City Council UPE was the country's first dual-medium residential university.

The university later merged with the PE Technikon and the Port Elizabeth campus of Vista University (Vista PE) to form the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU). Opened on 1 January 2005, this union of three unique institutions came about as a result of governments' countrywide restructuring of higher education institutions.

• Ronnie, P., Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University history, [online], Available at [Accessed: 21 January, 2009]

Last updated : 19-Dec-2013

This article was produced by South African History Online on 16-Mar-2011

Support South African History Online

Donate and Make African History Matter

South African History Online is a non profit organisation. We depend on public support to build our website into the most comprehensive educational resource and encyclopaedia on African history.

Your support will help us to build and maintain partnerships with educational institutions in order to strengthen teaching, research and free access to our content.