Verwoerdburg is renamed Centurion.

Wednesday, 28 June 1995

Verwoerdburg originates from Lyttelton Township that was marked out on the farm Droogegrond in 1904. The area was inhabited predominantly by Afrikaans speaking people. In 1964 it was granted its City Council status under the name of Lyttelton by combining the areas of Doornkloof, Irene and Lyttelton.  In 1967 Lyttelton was renamed Verwoerdburg. This was after the assassination of former South African Prime Minister Hendrik Verwoerd .

On 28 June 1995 Verwoerdburg acquired a new name; Centurion. Centurion is a town inthe Gauteng Province located between Pretoria and Midrand (Johannesburg), that forms part of the Tshwane Metropolitan.

• Jenkins, E. (2007), ‘Falling Into Place: The Story of Modern of Modern South African Place Names’, (David Philip Publishers), pp.148-150.

Last updated : 26-Jun-2014

This article was produced by South African History Online on 22-Jun-2012

Support South African History Online

Donate and Make African History Matter

South African History Online is a non profit organisation. We depend on public support to build our website into the most comprehensive educational resource and encyclopaedia on African history.

Your support will help us to build and maintain partnerships with educational institutions in order to strengthen teaching, research and free access to our content.