These properties, located between Muizenberg and St James, are the only remaining concentration of early 20th century Edwardian beach houses in South Africa, and face onto the old False Bay coastal road, regarded by many as one of the most beautiful scenic drives in the peninsula. The initial proclamation, made on 30 May 1985, involved Braeside House, Greystones and Schoonzicht, but this was extended on 7 March 1986 when an additional seven properties were added to the group. To this was added Sea Fever, a picturesque thatched dwelling presumed to date from the late 18th century located at 82 Main Road, St James, and declared on 23 December 1983, Stonehenge, a double-storey beach house dating from the 1920s and built in a predominantly Italian style with art deco features, located at 36 Main Road, St James, declared on 17 March 1989; Villa Capri, declared on 23 March 1979, and No 18 Main Road, declared on 27 December 1985. Long Cottage, 248 Main Road, Muizenberg. It is assumed that the original portion of this thatched roof house was erected as a humble fisherman's cottage in about 1856. It was extended to its present size shortly after the turn of the 20th century and is unique to this area. It was declared a National Monument under old NMC legislation on 9 December 1988.
-34° 6' 45.8748", 18° 20' 47.8184"