Riebeek Kasteel

Riebeek Castle Image source

The village of Riebeek Kasteel was established in about 1861, and was located at the foot of the Mountain of the same name. The Area was first visited in 1661 by a Dutch party who named the peak, after their Commander, Jan van Riebeeck.  

During 1661 Commander Jan van Riebeeck initiated an inland discovery expedition under the leadership of Pieter Cruythoff.

Google map: 

Last updated : 16-Nov-2018

This article was produced by South African History Online on 16-Mar-2011

Support South African History Online

Dear friends of SAHO

South African History Online (SAHO) needs your support.

SAHO is one of the most visited websites in South Africa with over 6 million unique users a year. Our goal is to fulfill our mandate and continue to build, and make accessible, a new people’s history of South Africa and Africa.

Please help us deliver this by contributing upwards of $1.00 a month for the next 12 months.



Make a donation here and send us a message of support.