Seychelles is a comparatively young Nation, which can trace its first Settlement back to 1770, when the Islands were first settled by the French. Leading a small party of Whites, Indians and Africans. The Islands remained in French hands until the defeat of Napoleon at Waterloo, evolving from humble beginnings to attain a population of 3500,  by the time Seychelles was ceded to Britain under, the treaty of Paris in 1814. 
During this period Seychelles came to know the enlightened policies of administrators such as Pierre Poivre, the brilliant politicking of Governor Queau de Quinssy and, of course, the terrible repercussions of the French Revolution. 
Under the British, Seychelles achieved a Population of some 7000 by the year 1825. Important Estates were established during this time producing Coconut, Food Crops, Cotton and Sugar Cane. During this period Seychelles also saw the establishment of Victoria as her capital, the Exile of numerous and colourful troublemakers from the Empire, the devastation caused by the famous Avalanche of 1862 and the Economic repercussions of the Abolition of Slavery. 
Seychelles achieved Independence from Britain, in 1976 and became a Republic within the Commonwealth. Following a period of single party rule by the Government of Mr. France Albert René, on December 4, 1991, President René announced a return to the Multiparty System of Government. 1993 saw the first Multiparty Presidential and Legislative Elections held under a new Constitution in which President René was victorious. President René also won the 1998 and 2003 elections before transferring the Presidency to James Alix Michel in June 2004. South African passport holders do not require a visa to enter Seychelles. Passports should be valid for 6 months after travel.
-7° 4' 4.8", 46° 41' 20.4"

Further Reading,for%206%20months%20after%20travel.