This region includes the Garden Route, the Central Karoo, and the Eastern part of the Overberg. A very distinct Area made up by contrasting Regions with each having a unique Character, Nature, Culture and History. This is home to the Indigenous Khoi and San people; the first meeting took place in Mossel Bay circa 1488 between European and ancient man. Swellendam was founded in 1745 and George not long after that, officially anyway. Pioneers and big game hunters, started to explore Areas of the Overberg, Oudtshoorn and George since the mid-17th Century. The Southern Cape and Karoo includes the Southernmost point of the African Continent, rain Forests, Mountains, sandy Beaches, proteas, fynbos, semi-Desert, fruit trees, Agricultural Land, Waterfalls, Nature Reserves, wildlife and plenty of ostriches,"(these animals are what makes the Karoo legendary!)" The Southern Cape and Karoo are not a Province but part of the; Western Cape Province, of South Africa. This Area occupy's the South Eastern, part of the Province. Previously the Western Cape Province used to be much bigger than now. Historically the Central Karoo and Southern Cape did occupy the entire Southern and Central Geographical part of the Western Cape Province, hence the name the Southern Cape.

The Garden Route is made up of the following Local Municipalities:'Hessequa; Kannaland; Mossel Bay; Oudtshoorn; George; Knysna and Bitou. As there is a better climate and richer soil quality. The majority of the Population is concentrated on the Coastal Belt and from there; the Population becomes sparser towards the interior. The Central Karoo is made up of the following local Municipalities: Laingsburg; Prince Albert; and Beaufort West. The Overberg is made up of the following local Municipalities: Cape Agulhas and Swellendam. 

-33° 52' 37.2", 16° 54"