Walter Sisulu University (WSU) was established on 1 July, 2005 in terms of the Higher Education Act No 101 of 1997, as amended. WSU, a comprehensive University, resulted from the merger of the former University of Transkei; Border Technikon and Eastern Cape Technikon. The new University was named in honour of an icon of the South African liberation struggle and close comrade of Nelson Mandela, the late Walter Max Ulyate Sisulu.
There are now 4 campuses - Mthatha, East London (Buffalo City), Butterworth, Komani (Queenstown). There are a range of courses on offer:
"WSU BUSINESS, MANAGEMENT SCIENCES AND LAW COURSES. POSTGRADUATE DEGREES. DIPLOMAS from Advanced diplomas. B-Tech: Business Administration. B-Tech: Cost & Management Accounting. B-Tech: Human Resources Management. B-Tech: Internal Auditing. B-Tech: Journalism. B-Tech: Management. B-Tech: Marketing. B-Tech: Public Management."
There was a total enrollment of 24 120 students in 2007!

28° 44' 31.2", -31° 35' 16.8"